Cerro Coso Community College is one of three colleges in the Kern Community College District. Our two sister colleges are Bakersfield College and Porterville College .

The multi-campus Kern Community College District serves an area of approximately 24,800 square miles in parts of Kern, Tulare, Inyo, Mono, and San Bernardino Counties.

Geographically one of the largest community college districts in the United States, the Kern District serves a population base of about 700,000 and an estimated enrollment of 22,500.

While the District was established as a separate entity on July 1, 1968, educational services have been provided to residents of this area for many years prior to that time: at Bakersfield College since 1913, at Porterville College since 1927, and in the Ridgecrest area since 1951, now Cerro Coso Community College.

There are many community education centers offering courses at locations away from the colleges. The District has embarked on a distance education venture which includes the use of sophisticated technology. All three colleges are accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges. The District is a charter member of the League for Innovation in the community colleges.