Coyote Athletics Holds 2021-2022 Awards Ceremony

Coyote Athletics 2021-2022 Awards Ceremony.

Cerro Coso held a modest in-person awards ceremony to highlight and celebrate the 2021-2022 athletic year, and award recipients on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, in the Gymnasium at the Ridgecrest campus.

Baseball Awards

  • Dominic Lopez- Gold Glove Second Base - # 28 Infielder for the Coyotes
  • Danny Jimenez- Gold Glove First Base / 2nd Team All-Conference - #13 Infielder
  • Brentt Olmo- 1st Team All-Conference - #27 Outfielder
  • Jaxon Holzem- 1st Team All-Conference - #17 Right Home Plate/Outfielder
  • Brooks Scott- Gold Glove Catcher / 1st team All-Conference - #2 Centerfield
  • Johnny McHenry- Gold Glove Shortstop / Big Bat Award/ Conference MVP - #5 Infielder

Softball Awards

  • Mattie Lane- Honorable Mention - #11
  • Emily Curtis- Honorable Mention - #16
  • Tawny Ford- 2nd Team All-Conference - #12
  • Kyla Collins- 1st Team All-Conference - #13

Four Coyote baseball players signed letters of intent to play:

  • Johnny McHenry - Cal State University Northridge, Northridge, California
  • Michael Doerr - Lindenwood University, St. Charles, Missouri
  • Trevor French - Union College, Barbourville, Kentucky
  • Carlos Soto - Union College, Barbourville, Kentucky

“The 2021-2022 academic year has been another year with many things to celebrate for our athletes,” said Athletic Director John McHenry. “The last two years have been hard. In their time with us, they have experienced a lot of change, but they have stayed committed to their sports and their studies, and worked hard to be successful on the field as well as in the classroom.”

“We are incredibly proud of our student-athletes,” said President, Dr. Sean Hancock. “These athletes have faced unique challenges, adapted to the changing times, and achieved at a high level in athletics and in their academics. You have represented Cerro Coso well in competition, in the classroom, and in the community. Congratulations on the well deserved awards!”

Cerro Coso Coyote baseball student-athlete award winners.
Cerro Coso Coyote baseball players signing letter of intent to play.
Cerro Coso Coyote softball student-athlete award winners.
Heather Ostash, President Sean Hancock, and Coyote baseball players.