Honor Society Inducts 126 New Members

2018 PTK Inductees

Cerro Coso announced the induction of 126 students into the Beta Kappa Chi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for the 2017/2018 academic year. In addition to honoring the new members of Phi Theta Kappa at an induction ceremony on Saturday, April 28, at the Ridgecrest campus, the ceremony included a presentation by keynote speaker College President Jill Board.

Phi Theta Kappa is currently represented at more than 600 colleges around the world. Its mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programs.

The 126 new Phi Theta Kappa members include: Laurie Alderman, Mario Anzaldo, Macklin Arbiola, Andrew Ariaga, Noah Bailey, Raymond Banda, William Banks, Joshua Barkey, Sarah Battershell, Theresa Bell, Betty Biros, Marcus Bovarie, Tylar Bradley, Christopher Bridgeman, Felicity Browne, Armando Campos, Mariah Castleberry, Chelsi Cheadle, Brian Christensen, Andy Chung, Michael Chung, Crystal Coleman, Mark Cook, Nancy Cox, Tom Dodson, Adrian Douglass, Jonathan Durham, Alvaro Enriquez, Alexandria Farr, Heather Fehring, Taylor Frye, Torin Fuller, Johannah Mae Go, Ryan Guenthard, Lorenzo Gunn, Nicholas Harper, Lauren Harris, Ryan Harris, Jessica Hassan, Anthony Heltsley, Jennifer Hembree, Amanda Hill, Holly Hill, Angie Iraheta, Carroll Jackson, Ruth Jones, Aleksandr Keeney, Kaitlynn Kelley, Andrew Kline, Stephanie Kriedel, Davis Kunz, Kimberly Landolt, Johnny Lavender, Rachel Lebsock, Elinelle Lee, Earl Lent, Huan Liang, Grace Lloyd, Jaycee Lucero-Arts, Rosemary Lynn, Donnell Marin, Chystal Matthews, Elisabeth McClernon, Mack McCord, Montana McGinty, Elijah McGowan, Emily Meadows, Jacob Miller, Laeticia Miramontes, Caitlin Mitchell, Laura Monterey, Kaitlyn Morgan, Sergio Munoz, Kayla Nauman, Sharon Nelson, Colette Nicod, Kyla Owens, Carlin Pace, Victoria Patrie, Erica Perez, Daniel Perkins, Kourtney Pott, Angelina Pues, Eric Quintanar, Victoria Rash, Tiffany Rea, Yvonne Reyes, Erin Richard, Jaison Vincent Rodriguez, Savannah Scarpa, Edward Schlesinger, Emily Seals, Cynthia Shaw, Raymond Shermer, Savannah Simmons, Kynetta Small, Blake Smith, Courtney Somerville, Pam Sorenson, Alessandra Stanco, Kimberly Stewart, Nathan Stuart, Necia Thurm, Mychael Tillman, Rita Trumbull, Colton Van Hook, Rebecca Vance, Samuel Velazquez, Abigail Voigt, Kyle Washington, Jennifer Welling, Autumn Wilder, Katherine Willard, Destin Yent, Lauren Zajicek, William Zajicek.

“PTK provides a wonderful opportunity for our top performing students,” said President Jill Board. “These students work hard to accomplish their academic goals and we are very proud of their achievement.”

Eligibility requirements for membership in Phi Theta Kappa include enrollment in an associate degree program, completion of 12 hours of college level coursework towards a degree, a grade point average of 3.5, an invitation to membership from their chapter and adherence to society moral standards. The Cerro Coso Community College Foundation, recognizing the value in membership and the endless opportunities PTK provides students, generously paid for 120 scholarships for membership into the organization.