Cerro Coso Community College

Children at the CDC

Child Development

The Cerro Coso Child Development and Education department is dedicated to working with early education professionals in developing the knowledge and skills necessary to provide quality early learning programs for young children. We have worked to develop an online program that addresses the needs of the small, rural communities of the Eastern Sierras as well as the variety of programs available throughout the state of California.

Programs Offered

 

The Child Development Program at Cerro Coso Community College offers various types of training & job opportunities for students and faculty:

  • All classes and programs offered online—study and train at times convenient for YOU!
  • Courses and programs aligned with the CHDV Permit Matrix.
  • CAP aligned courses that allow for easier completion of program requirements.
  • Online support opportunities to work with qualified Mentor Teachers through the California Early Childhood Mentor Program (CECMP) Virtual Mentoring Program.
  • Reimbursement of educational costs for eligible students through the Child Development Training Consortium (CDTC).
  • Hands on experience and training with young children at the Child Development Center/Lab Schools located in California City and Ridgecrest.

Curriculum Alignment Project

The California Community Colleges Curriculum Alignment Project (CAP) engaged faculty from across the state to develop a 24 unit lower-division program of study supporting early care and education teacher preparation. Cerro Coso Community College is a fully aligned college for both the eight (8) degree and seven (7) specialization courses. The CAP courses have been accepted as the required core for the Associate in Science for Transfer (AS-T) degree in Early Childhood Education.

Child Development Center/Lab School

The Cerro Coso Child Development Center/Lab School has 3 locations, two in California City and one in Ridgecrest. Every location offers a developmentally appropriate program funded through the Department of Education. State Preschool and funded care are available to families who qualify. Cerro Coso students are given first priority.

More Info
Fill Out Application

Faculty

Department Chair
Name Position Email Phone Location
Lisa Fuller Professor, Child Development Department Chair, Child Development lfuller@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6169
LRC 735
Faculty
Name Position Email Phone Location
Vivian Baker Professor, Child Development vbaker@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6182
EV 11G
Mary O'Neal Professor, Child Development moneal@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6275
EV 11G
Adjunct Faculty
Name Position Email Phone Location
Linda Eberhart Adjunct Faculty, Child Development leberhar@cerrocoso.edu
Barbara (Bobbie) Edwards Adjunct Faculty, Child Development barbara.edwards@cerrocoso.edu (760) 376-6459
KRV
Julia Faumina Adjunct Faculty, Child Development julia.faumuina@cerrocoso.edu
Marianne Fountain Adjunct Faculty, Child Development mfountai@cerrocoso.edu
KRV
Kristina French Adjunct Faculty, Child Development kristina.french@cerrocoso.edu
Michelle Harper Adjunct Faculty, Child Development michelle.harper@cerrocoso.edu
Mark Jacobs Adjunct Faculty, Child Development mark.jacobs@cerrocoso.edu
Katie Mervin Adjunct Faculty, Child Development katie.mervin@cerrocoso.edu
Linda Middleton Adjunct Faculty, Child Development lmiddlet@cerrocoso.edu
Heather Miller Adjunct Faculty, Child Development heather.miller@cerrocoso.edu
Teri Stephenson Adjunct Faculty, Child Development teri.stephenson@cerrocoso.edu
Robin Suitt Adjunct Faculty, Child Development robin.suitt@cerrocoso.edu
Kern Community College District