Cerro Coso Community College

Picture Your Future!

Picture Your Future!

ACCESS Programs held their 35th Annual Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 22, 2016, at the Springhill Suites, and the theme was “Picture Your Future” inspired by nostalgic moments and the promises of a bright future.

Alumni Speaker Debbie Nelson said “when I was in the Master Worker Program at the college they had us close our eyes and picture our future. That was a pivotal moment for me and my career. I set a plan in motion that very minute. It is okay if your plans and goals change. You have to start somewhere”. Graduate speaker Heather Bopp shared her moving story that ultimately resulted in her working full-time at the college.

Twenty-six program students will be graduating with Associate Degrees, and 17 with certificates of achievement. Special recognition went to: Sophoandara Ry, ACCESS Programs Ridgecrest Student of the Year; and Britney Johnson, ACCESS Programs Lake Isabella Student of the Year. Renè Mora was named Outstanding Faculty of the Year for the Ridgecrest Campus, and Debra Rundell received the Outstanding Faculty of the Year award for the Lake Isabella Campus. “It’s nice to know others see what you are doing,” said Rundell. “I just love helping students.” Penny Talley was honored for her 20 years of services to the program.

Kern Community College District