Cerro Coso Community College

Success Stories, the Next Chapter

Success Stories, the Next Chapter

The theme for the 33rd Annual Access Programs Awards ceremony held at the Springhill Suites on Friday, May 2, 2014, was “Success Stories, the Next Chapter”. Each year Cerro Coso Community College takes this time to celebrate the accomplishments of program students for their determination and perseverance in overcoming challenges and barriers in receiving their college education.

Two former Cerro Coso students, Erica Santiago and Catherine Starling, returned to congratulate and encourage students with their inspiring stories of triumph over their own personal struggles.

Sixteen Access Programs students will graduate with Associate Degrees, and 26 with certificates of achievements this May.

Special recognition went to Elliott Jones—Access Programs IWV Student of the Year; Samantha Kessler—Access Programs KRV Student of the Year; student Christy Binder, who received recognition for her work with the Student Services United Club and a Note Taker certificate; and Patricia McKee, who received a Note Taker certificate.

Karee Hamilton was named outstanding Faculty of the Year, and Vikki Del Pellegrino from the KRV campus was named exceptional Adjunct Faculty of the Year.

Special appreciation went to retiring classified employee Sara Brown in honor of her 26 years of outstanding service to Special Services/Access Programs students.

"Every student has a story, but yours are truly inspiring and will surely encourage other to aspire to excellence," said Paula Suorez, Access Program Director.

Kern Community College District