Cerro Coso Community College

CCCC Honor Society Inducts 48 New Members

New Phi Theta Kappa members – Front: Faith Carter, Rachael Barter, Daisy Zajicek, Alisha Bounds, Annie Chumchal, Rebecca McGuire, Ingrid Gonzales, Charris Gabaldon, and Stacy Johnson.  Back: Kayla Stowell, Joshua Baca, Adriana Zerbini, Kaylene Havig, Nolan Havig, Chance Salmon, Jordon Smith, Sebastian Acosta, and Tanner Barnett. Third Row Center: Zachary Bell.

Cerro Coso Community College announced the induction of 48 students into the Beta Kappa Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for the class of 2013/2014. This increases the number of CCCC PTK members to 575.

In addition to honoring the new members of Phi Theta Kappa at an induction ceremony on Friday, April 25th at the Ridgecrest campus, the ceremony included a presentation by keynote speaker CCCC Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Corey Marvin.

Phi Theta Kappa is currently represented at more than 600 colleges around the world. Its mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programs.

The 48 new Phi Theta Kappa members include: Sebastian Acosta, Tanner Barnett, Rachael Barter, Gregory Bartley, Cynthia Bishop, Alisha Bounds, Megan Budlong, Lucy Bui, Christopher Camilleri, Luis Carrillo, Faith Carter, Annie Chumchal, Armando Contreras, Sydney Craig, Nadya Dooley, Elizabeth Field, John Fraley, Charris Gabaldon, Ashley Glenesk, Ingrid Gonzales, Alyssa Goriesky, Mikaela Griffiths, Kaylene Havig, Nolan Havig, Christal Hoang, Sandra Johnson, Stacy Johnson, Marlisa Klapdor, Stephen Krupa, Kylie Maas, Taylor McDowell, Rebecca McGuire, Mark Niezgoda, David Rapido, Chance Salmon, Jared Saulque, Jordon Smith, Jonathan Stanovich, Arrin Stoner, Kayla Stowell, Daniel Szymanski, Chun Tse, Cathryn Vanderlinden, Martin Weit, Whitney Williams, Daisy Zajicek, and Adriana Zerbini.

“PTK provides a wonderful opportunity for our top performing students,” said Dr. Marvin.

“These students work hard to accomplish their academic goals and we are very proud of their achievement.”

Eligibility requirements for membership in Phi Theta Kappa include enrollment in an associate degree program, completion of 12 hours of college level coursework towards a degree, a grade point average of 3.5, an invitation to membership from their chapter and adherence to society moral standards.

Kern Community College District