Cerro Coso Community College

English

English and Foreign Languages

Programs Offered

More on the English Major

Metamorphoses – Cerro Coso’s Literary and Art Journal

Typewriter (photo by Cody Geary) https://secure.flickr.com/photos/68292118@N00/97819986

The English Department is proud to offer Metamorphoses, a literary and art journal featuring work by Cerro Coso students, faculty, staff, and invited guest writers. Met publishes poetry, short stories, creative non-fiction, reviews, literary scholarship, and art in all mediums.

The yearly Met Awards highlights the superior creative writing of Cerro Coso and local high school students. Winning pieces are published in Met, and writers are invited to attend the end-of-semester award ceremony to receive their award and to read their work to an audience. Unlike many similar literary contest, submission to the Met Awards is free.

Visit Metamorphoses today for more information.

Faculty

Department Chair
Name Position Email Phone Location
Matthew Crow Professor, English; Department Chair, English mcrow@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6163
LRC 704B
Faculty
Name Position Email Phone Location
Clifford Davis Professor, English cmdavis@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6316
EV 11B
Gary Enns Professor, English genns@cerrocoso.edu (760) 379-5501
KRV 3B
Lucila Gonzalez-Cirre Professor, Spanish lcirre@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6121
EV 11H
Jon Heaton Professor, Spanish jheaton@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6305
EV 11F
Melanie Jeffrey Professor, English melanie.jeffrey@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6152
LRC 720
Yvonne Mills Professor, English yvonne.mills@cerrocoso.edu (760) 872-5333
BESCC 105 & MESCC 225D
Christine Swiridoff Professor, English; Phi Theta Kappa Advisor, Honors Program Coordinator cswirido@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6312
EV 11A
Laura Vasquez Professor, English lavasque@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6162
LRC 720
Adjunct Faculty
Name Position Email Phone Location
Darcie Khanukayev Adjunct Faculty, Spanish dkhanuka@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Edward Kollmeyer Adjunct Sign Language Professor edward.kollmeyer@cerrocoso.edu
Joseph Martin Adjunct Faculty, English josmarti@cerrocoso.edu (760) 379-5501
KRV
Julie Metz Adjunct Faculty, English jmetz@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Michaela Vargas Adjunct Faculty, English mivargas@cerrocoso.edu
Carlos Wright-Tkacz Adjunct Faculty, English carlos.wrighttkacz@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Kern Community College District