Cerro Coso Community College

Allied Health

Allied Health

Medical Assisting

Cerro Coso Community College offers the following medical assisting options:

The first step is to take the core classes, which are offered online in the spring, summer, and fall. The next step is to take either the administrative and/or clinical medical assisting classes. You will need to contact counseling to take the administrative or clinical medical assisting classes, because they are listed as “restricted” on the schedule. The counseling team will verify that you are either currently enrolled in the core classes or that you have completed them.

Please note that you need to have a grade of “C” or better in all your medical assisting core classes to move on to the administrative or clinical medical assisting classes, and a grade of “C” or better in all your administrative and/or clinical medical assisting courses to earn the certificate(s) or degree.

If you have any questions, please contact your local counseling department.

Medical Assisting Resources

California Certifying Board for Medical Assistants: examination application, testing, and other resources.

This program is authorized by California Certifying Board for Medical Assistants. To learn more about the agency or to submit a complaint about Cerro Coso Community College’s program after trying to resolve the issue through the local Student Complaint Policy, contact the agency at www.ccbma.org.

Certified Nursing Aide (CNA)

CNA/HHA Application

Contact information by site:

  • Ridgecrest/IWV: 760-384-6219
  • Lake Isabella/KRV: 760-379-5501
  • Bishop: 760-872-1565

After passing the CNA course, students will need to contact the Red Cross, pass the Nurse Assistant Competency Exam, and obtain a Certified Nursing Assistant Certificate. Keep your receipt, because some long term facilities reimburse your fees after working for them for a year.

All students must complete a Certified Background Check before participating in the program.

This program is authorized by California Department of Public Health. To learn more about the agency or to submit a complaint about Cerro Coso Community College’s program after trying to resolve the issue through the local Student Complaint Policy, contact the agency at www.cdph.ca.gov.

Home Health Aide (HHA)

The HHA class is offered at IWV/Ridgecrest. You MUST have current CNA certification before you can enroll in the class. Students must also complete a Certified Background Check (instructions in CNA Applications).

Licensed Vocational Nursing (LVN)

LVN Programs start in January. Take the pre-reqs now!

LVN Prerequisites

  • HCRS C055 – Certified Nurses' Aide
  • CSCI C070 – Computer Literacy or CSCI C101 - Intro to Computer Information Systems
  • HCRS C150 – Medical Terminology
  • PSYC C101 – General Psychology
  • BIOL C125 – Survey of Human Anatomy & Physiology with a lab
    (Recommended for those just pursuing LVN)

    OR

    BIOL C251 – Human Anatomy AND BIOL C255 – Human Physiology
    (Recommended for those going on to RN afterwards)

Nursing students must have a high school diploma or GED before applying to the program.

All prerequisites with a grade of "C" or better have to be done prior to the start of the LVN Program. It typically will take a student 2 years to complete both the prerequisites and the LVN Program. Completing the AS degree in Vocational Nursing is strongly encouraged.

All students must complete a Certified Background Check before participating in the program.

Licensed Vocational Nursing (LVN) Pass Rates

  • 2010: 86%
  • 2011: 100%
  • 2012: 90%
  • 2013: 77%
  • 2014: 77%
  • 2015: 78%
  • 2016: 84%
  • 2017: 88%

Source

Programs Offered

Faculty

Department Chair
Name Position Email Phone Location
Matthew Wanta Professor, Nursing; Director of Nursing matthew.wanta@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6331
EV 10
Faculty
Name Position Email Phone Location
Melissa Bowen Associate Professor, Psychology and Human Services melissa.bowen@cerrocoso.edu (760) 382-1638
Tehachapi
Annette Hodgins Professor, Health Careers ahodgins@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6319
EV 10
Michael Metcalf Faculty, Director of Emergency Medical Technology mmetcalf@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6246
EV 9
Shelly Tannehill Associate Professor, Nursing shelly.tannehill@cerrocoso.edu (760) 384-6119
EV 12C
Adjunct Faculty
Name Position Email Phone Location
Darren Amos Adjunct Faculty, Allied Health darren.amos@cerrocoso.edu
KRV
Sharon Britz Adjunct Faculty, Health Careers sbritz@cerrocoso.edu
Brianne Chappell-McGovern Adjunct Faculty, Emergency Medical Technology bchappel@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Faith Lorenz Adjunct Faculty, Allied Health faith.lorenz@cerrocoso.edu
IWV
Yvette Matthiessen Adjunct Faculty, Health Careers yvette.matthiessen@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Lucia Niepagen Adjunct Faculty, Allied Health maria.niepagen@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Cheryl Pullen Adjunct Faculty, Allied Health cheryl.pullen@cerrocoso.edu
IWV
Heleen Welvaart Adjunct Faculty, Allied Health heleen.welvaart@cerrocoso.edu
ESCC
Kern Community College District